Skip to page body Home About Us Governing Board For Customers Conservation Contact Us

Teresa ThomasTeresa "Terry" Thomas
(Term 2014-2018)

  • Represents South Bay Irrigation District (SBID) Division 4 (since 2006) 
  • SBID President (2009, 2010, 2014, 2015)
  • SBID Vice President (2008)
  • SBID Deputy Treasurer (2007 and 2013)
  • Sweetwater Authority Vice Chair (2015-2016)
  • Sweetwater Authority Operations Committee (Chair 2009-2012, 2015-2016)
  • Sweetwater Authority Governing Board Chair (2017-2018)

Professional and other affiliations and information

  • Represents SBID on the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) Special Districts Advisory Committee (2009-2011 and 2013-2020)
  • Professor Emeritus of Microbiology and Environmental Biology from the School of Math, Science, and Engineering of Southwestern College
  • Serves on the Association of California Water Agencies (ACWA) Joint Powers Insurance Authority Board (2015-2017)
  • Serves on the ACWA Water Quality and Groundwater Committees
  • Serves on the Chula Vista Interagency Water Task Force (2017)
  • Served on ACWA Communications Committee
  • Served on the Cuyamaca Community College "Project WaterWorks" Advisory Board
  • Serves on Chula Vista Energy Generation Facilities Committee (2010-2013)
  • Served on the Chula Vista Charitable Foundation Founding Governing Board, and Current Founding Member of Endow Chula Vista, a part of the San Diego Foundation
  • Served on the Chula Vista Resource Conservation Commission, International Friendship Commission, and Ethics Board
  • 2005 Chula Vista Environmentalist of the Year
  • Served on the International Boundary and Water Commission Citizens Forum Board for the San Diego-Tijuana Region (Two Terms)
  • Served on the San Diego County Solid Waste Hearing Panel (Two Terms)
  • Served on the General Plan 2005 Update (GPU) Steering Committee representing the Environment, Open Space and Sustainable Development Vision 2020 GPU Subcommittee
  • Served on the Unified Port District Bayfront Master Plan Steering Committee representing the Chula Vista GPU Steering Committee
  • Member of the Chula Vista Chamber of Commerce and Life Member of the Chula Vista Nature Center (Living Coast Discovery Center)
  • Past member of the Bonita Business and Professional Association
  • Member of the Bonita Historical and Cultural Center
  • Member of the Friends of the Chula Vista Library
  • Southwest San Diego County LIONS (Past President and Current Executive Committee); District 4-L6 LIONS; Melvin Jones Humanitarian Fellow and Past 4-L6 International Director and 4L6 Lions Roaring Times Co-Editor
  • Community Advocate, and Member: Crossroads II, Southwest Chula Vista Civic Association (Co-Founder), Environmental Health Coalition
  • President of the Chula Vista Odawara Sister Cities Association, Sister Cities International Volunteer of Distinction
  • Awarded certificate of recognition in Special District Governance by the California Special Districts Association (CSDA) Leadership Foundation
  • Emeritus Member of Southern California American Society of Microbiology
  • Delta Kappa Gamma International Honorary Women Educators Society Area 16 Regional Outstanding Public Service Recognition. Current Learning is for Everyone (L.I.F.E.) liaison for Gamma Omicron. Also, member, Kappa Gamma Pi Honorary Educators Society
  • Honorary Life Member of the American Lebanese Syrian Ladies Club of San Diego
  • Who’s Who in America – Marquis Honoree of Distinction

Email Director Thomas

Click map to enlarge



Last updated: 1/17/2017 10:00:38 AM